SIGCSE Update, Alison Clear

January 5, 2018 | Author: Anonymous | Category: Arts & Humanities, English, Literature, English Literature
Share Embed Donate

Short Description

Download SIGCSE Update, Alison Clear...


SIGCSE Report Update to ACM Education Council 2nd November 2013

New Board • Chair: Susan H. Rodger Vice Chair: Paul Tymann Secretary: Judy Sheard Treasurer: Amber Settle • At-Large Members Tiffany Barnes Alison Clear Sue C. Fitzgerald • Also serving on the Board will be Immediate Past Chair: Renee McCauley

SIGCSE Symposium • SIGCSE Symposium venues – 2014 Atlanta • • • •

Travel grant Kids camp Heads and New Faculty workshops to alternate Looking at conference being more than CS1 & CS2

– 2015 Kansas City – 2016 Memphis – 2017 out west somewhere

SIGCSE Symposium 2013, Denver • Best Paper

“Retaining 18-30% more Majors with a Trio of Instructional Best Practices in CS1” Leo Porter, Skidmore College & Beth Simon, University of California, San Diego

ITiCSE Canterbury, Kent, UK • Best paper “Voice interactive learning: A framework and evaluation” M. del Puerto Paule-Ruiz, Victor M. ÁlvarezGarcía & Juan-Ramon Pérez-Pérez (University of Oviedo, Spain), Moisés Riestra-González (Accenture Analytics, Spain)

ITiCSE venues • ITiCSE – 2013 Canterbury, UK – 2014 Uppsala, Sweden – 2015 Vilnius, Lithuania – 2016 Arequipa, Peru – 2017 Europe, possibly Finland – 2018 India? Canada?

ICER Best Paper • Chairs award “Exploring Hypotheses about Media Computation” Mark Guzdial • People’s Choice (John Henry award) “In-Game Assessments Increase Novice Programmers’ Engagement and Level Completion Speed” Michael Lee, Andrew Ko, Irwin Kwan

ICER • ICER venues – 2013 San Diego, US – 2014 Glasgow, Scotland – 2015 Omaha, Nebraska

Some issues, size, growth, cost, New: posters, BOF, research projects workshops

Financial • 2571 members • Viability next March, don’t see any issues • However – Cost of membership – Conference surpluses keeping SIGCSE viable – Increase fees, digital and paper?

2014 Award Winners Lifetime Service Andrea Lawrence, Spelman College

Outstanding Contribution to CS Education Robert Panoff, Shodor Foundation

View more...


Copyright � 2017 NANOPDF Inc.