The Sons of Liberty

January 5, 2018 | Author: Anonymous | Category: History, World History
Share Embed Donate

Short Description

Download The Sons of Liberty...


The Sons of Liberty By: Anna

Who Were They? The Sons of Liberty was a group that was made up of American patriots that originated in the North American British colonies before independence. John Adams , Samuel Adams, Benedict Arnold, Benjamin Edes, John Hancock, Patrick Henry, John Lamb, William Mackay, Alexander McDougall, James Otis, Paul Revere, Benjamin Rush, Isaac Sears, Haym, Solomon, Charles Thomson, Joseph Warren, Thomas Young, Marinus Willet, and Oliver Wolcott were all notable members of The Sons of Liberty.

How They Were Formed In Boston in the early summer of 1775, a group of artisans and shopkeepers, called The Loyal Nine, began preparing for agitation against the Stamp Act. As the group grew, they came to be called The Sons of Liberty. Benjamin Edes, a printer, and John Gill of the Boston Gazette generated much public sentiment about the Stamp Act. They produced a stream of news and opinion. Within a very short time the group grew to some two thousand men and had been organized under Ebenezer McIntosh. The Sons of Liberty was founded by Samuel Adams.

Why They Were Called The Sons of Liberty They called themselves The Sons of Liberty because they believed in being free. They did whatever they could to help the colonies become an independent country.

Sources htm

View more...


Copyright � 2017 NANOPDF Inc.